Call for Faculty Nominations to the Athletic Board

The Athletic Board serves as an advisory committee to the Chancellor and the Athletic Director on the fiscal operational aspects of the varsity sports program. The Board is also responsible for that program as it relates to the academic and educational objectives defined by the Senate.

The Committee on Committees is seeking nominations of tenure system faculty members to fill two vacancies on the Athletic Board, created by the expiration of the terms of Harley Johnson and Brent Roberts.

Faculty members serve four-year terms. The following faculty from Senate nominations are continuing on the Board:

  • Cleo D'Arcy, ACES, 2015
  • Vicente Diaz, LAS, 2017
  • Adrienne Dixson, EDUC, 2016 
  • Michael Raycraft, AHS, 2015 
  • Tom Ulen, LAW, 2017 

A complete list of current Athletic Board members is available here:

The Senate Committee on Committees will present a slate of faculty nominees, as stipulated in the Senate Bylaws. The Senate will vote on this slate at the April 14 Senate meeting, and the top four names will be forwarded to the Chancellor for the two vacancies.

We invite you to make nominations; faculty may also self-nominate. Nominations must include the nominee's willingness to serve and a brief (1-2 paragraph) description of the qualifications of the nominee, including reference to:

  1. Interest/knowledge of men's athletics, women's athletics, and minority participation in the intercollegiate athletic program
  2. Knowledge of the University's educational and academic objectives 
  3. Knowledge in business and financial management
  4. Interest in student athlete welfare issues

Thank you for your assistance; we look forward to receiving nominations.

Nominations must be submitted on or before Monday, March 21.

To: The Office of the Senate

Subject: Faculty Nominations to the Athletic Board

This mailing approved by:
Office of the Chancellor

sent to:
Massmail Archive   .   Massmail powered by WebTools