August 24, 2015

Dear Colleagues:

I am happy to inform you that the transition team recommended by the task force led by President Emeritus B. Joseph White has been formed.

The members are:  

  • Greg Freund (Chair), Professor and Head, Department of Pathology, Urbana
  • Feng-Sheng Hu, Professor and Associate Dean of Science, LAS, Urbana (UIUC Provost Designee)
  • Jim Slauch, Professor and Director of the Medical Scholars Program, Urbana
  • Larry Tobacman, Senior Associate Dean for Research, College of Medicine and Professor of Medicine and Director, MD-PhD Program, Department of Medicine, Chicago (UIC Provost Designee)
  • Matthew Wheeler, Professor, Department of Animal Science and SEC Member, UIUC (UIUC Faculty Governance Representative)

The transition team is vested with the authority to make joint decisions on behalf of the provosts of the Chicago and Urbana-Champaign campuses.  Specific areas of responsibility include:

  • Development of a transition plan that is agreed upon by the leadership of both campuses
  • Identification of financial resources required to implement the plan and, as needed, secure funding commitments from the campuses
  • Implementation of the plan in a timely and sustained manner
  • Adoption of a strategy of clear communication throughout the process

I have also named Sharon Donovan, Professor and Melissa M. Noel Endowed Chair in Nutrition and Health, as the Ombudsman to assist in this transition.  Dr. Donovan’s contact information is phone: 217-333-2289 or email at

Thanks to all for their willingness to serve in this important process!


Timothy L. Killeen, PhD